New York Concealed Carry Weapon Firearms Safety Course

Only- $50*

Includes: * Firearms Safety Course, Certificate of Completion and 

$10 Discount off of Private Pistol Lessons 

 

You do not need a firearms permit to take this class!

 

The State of New York passed laws that allow us to carry concealed handguns for self-protection. Obtaining a permit to carry concealed in most counties within the State of New York requires a Firearms Safety Certification Course which covers gun safety, gun storage, dispute resolution, New York laws regarding use of force as a defense and licensing requirements. The applicant then applies and pays a fee to the State which completes a background check and completes the issuance of the license.

 

New York is a may-issue state, meaning authorities are not bound by law to issue concealed carry permits to qualified applicants. Permits are issued at the discretion of the issuing officer in each county. While arbitrary denials for a permit can be overturned in court, the person applying for a carry permit must be able to show why he was wrongfully denied a permit.
 

Qualifications for a permit in New York include being at least 21 years old, of “good moral character,” and having a clean criminal record. Applicants must be able to demonstrate why they need carry permits (such as for hunting, target shooting, employment or self-defense). A background check is required, and some counties also require successful completion of a handgun safety course.
 

This will certify you to meet the requirements of most counties in New York. A firearms license allows you to get an armed security guard job or obtain the license for personal protection. This course is required before you can apply for your license to carry and women are encouraged to apply.

 

We will teach you the basics of firearms safety: Pistol Parts And Operation * Ammunition * Using A Pistol Safely * Cleaning, Storing and Transporting a Pistol * Shooting Fundamentals * Shooting Positions * Shooting Skills under Stress * Marksman Skills

Date                                                 Class                                                                                        Location                               Time
Tues, Oct 30                                  NY-Only Firearms Safety Course, $50               Newburgh                           6pm-9pm- Sold Out

Tues, Nov 20                                 NY-Only Firearms Safety Course, $50               Newburgh                           6pm-9pm

Tues, Dec 4                                     NY-Only Firearms Safety Course, $50               Newburgh                           6pm-9pm

Combined New York & Utah Concealed Firearms Permit Course

-Carry in 33 States- 

You do not need a firearms permit to take this class!
Course fee is $99 or $85 for students that have taken the
Damon Finch Power Sessions Firearms Safety Course previously, (must show certificate of completion).

Course fee includes:

* Utah application with completion stamp issued by a Certified Utah Instructor.
* Certificate of completion for New York 
* Pre-addressed mailing envelopes for your application packets for Utah.
* Two 2"x 2" passport quality photos
* Fingerprinting service for your Utah application
* $10 discount off personal pistol lessons
* And much more...

 

By combining the Utah and New York CCW permits you can legally carry in 33 states! Efforts are constantly underway to bring more states on as well! Utah CCW Permits DO NOT allow you to carry a concealed firearm within the State of New York. Utah CCW Permits are issued for "Personal Protection". Reciprocity and Recognition of Permits from State to State is a complex issue, we cannot and will not give legal advice. If you need accurate answers to specific legal questions, contact the State Issuing Authority or consult an Attorney who is licensed in the State in question.

Additional State regulatory licenses and/or professional permits may be required from individual States while working as an Investigator, Bail Enforcement Agent, or Executive Protection Professional.
 

• You do not need to be a resident of Utah to apply!
• As a non-resident of either Utah you can carry in 33 states!
• Utah state fee is only $67 and is good for 5 years! Renewal is only $15!
• No live fire requirement to qualify for Utah permit!

Firearms Safety Rules 

* Always point the muzzle in a safe direction.

* Keep your finger off the trigger until you are ready to shoot.

* Keep the action open and the gun unloaded until ready to use.

* Know how the gun operates.

* Be sure your gun and ammunition are compatible.

* Carry only one gauge/caliber of ammunition when shooting.

* Be sure of your target and what's beyond.

* Wear eye and ear protection as appropriate.

* Don't mix alcohol or drugs with shooting.

* Be aware that circumstances may require additional rules unique to a particular situation

To register you must call (845) 787-4181 or fill and submit the electronic form below, mail or email your full name, phone number and date of the class you wish to attend. Registered students are guaranteed a seat and will be informed in the unlikely event that a class must be postponed.  Tuition fee is payable in cash, credit card or money orders payable to: Damon Finch Power Sessions

Please read the policy page prior to enrolling in any of our courses: click here

Training Videos

******************************************************************************************************************************

6 Things to Do if You’re Pulled Over While Carrying Concealed
Posted by Craig Fletcher on July 22, 2016, AmericanConcealed.com


It’s always at least a little unnerving when you see police lights flashing in your rear view mirror. When you’re carrying concealed and you get pulled over by a police officer, an already stressful moment can take on new shades of uncertainty. Take a deep breath and remember the following tips as the officer approaches your vehicle. Following these tips will help keep the officer at ease and keep the traffic stop as stress-free as possible.

1 – Roll Down the Window

As the officer pulls up behind you, roll down your window to make it as easy as possible for the officer to speak to you and for you to hand over your license, registration and concealed carry permit. It’s not a bad idea to turn on the dome light to illuminate the inside of the vehicle and reassure the officer that you have nothing to hide.

2 – Keep Your Hands on the Wheel

As the officer approaches your vehicle, avoid making any sudden movements that may cause the officer to become suspicious. Place your hands near the top of your steering wheel in the plain sight of the officer. Doing so will reassure the officer that you are not a threat.

3 – Stay Calm, Collected and Polite

Regardless of the reason you’ve been pulled over, it is important to remain respectful when you communicate with the officer. Don’t make any excuses or assumptions about the reason you may have been pulled over. Wait until the officer tells you why you were pulled over before you start responding.

4 – Know Your State’s “Duty to Inform” Laws

This step should actually be first, as you should always know the concealed carry laws of the jurisdiction in which you’re driving. Some states require citizens to inform officers that they are carrying concealed. If you are in a “duty to inform” state, you must tell the officer that you are carrying a concealed weapon.

Even if you don’t have a duty to inform, it’s still a good idea to inform the officer that you have a permit to carry concealed and that there is a firearm in the vehicle. Doing so will prevent any “surprises” if the stop is prolonged or a search is performed on your vehicle.

5 – Present Your Driver’s License, Registration, Insurance and CCW Permit

If you haven’t already gathered your documentation, inform that you will be retrieving it and let him or her know where it is. Don’t speak and start moving at the same time. Wait for the officer to reply that she understands you will be reaching for your documentation and where it is. Move slowly to reassure the officer that you’re not a threat. Slowly hand them to the officer and wait for further instruction.

6 – Don’t Exit the Vehicle or Leave the Scene Unless the Officer Says So

Remain in your vehicle unless the officer tells you to get out. Don’t assume you’re free to go until you hear it from the officer.

While it’s never fun to get pulled over while driving, following these six tips will make the experience go as smoothly as possible. Officers have a tough job and they’re always on alert for potential threats. Following these steps will put the officer’s mind at ease during the stop.

.

Date                                                 Class                                 Location                               Time

Tues, Oct 30                               NY/Utah, $99               Newburgh                           6pm-11pm - Sold Out

Tues, Nov 20                              NY/Utah, $99               Newburgh                           6pm-11pm 

Tues, Dec 4                                  NY/Utah, $99               Newburgh                           6pm-11pm